About Lofoten

Lofoten consists of small local communities and is home to many people. At the same time, Lofoten welcomes several hundred thousand tourists every year due to its beautiful nature.

Lofoten is an archipelago located in Nordland, west of the sea north of the Arctic Circle. The islands consist of Austvågøya, Gimsøy, Vestvågøya, Flakstadøya, Moskenesøya, Værøy and Røst.

Lofoten consists of the six municipalities Vågan, Vestvågøy, Flakstad, Moskenes, Værøy and Røst, as well as the parts of Hadsel located on Austvågøy. Between the mainland and Lofoten lies the Vestfjord.

Facts about Lofoten

Residents: about. 24 000

Highest mountain: Higravtinden (1146 m.a.s.l.)
The archipelago stretches 200 km out into the Norwegian Sea

Lofoten’s total area: 1,227 km2

68°20′N – 14°40′E

"You haven't seen real nature until you've been to Northern Norway, and the most beautiful of all is Lofoten".